BIDS Helper Not Building Correctly

Aug 21, 2015 at 12:58 PM
I am having issues compiling the 2008BIDSHelper solution. I am using Visual Studio 2010 Express on a 64-bit Windows 7 machine. It compiles correctly and I get no errors, but when I try to copy the DLLs and AddIn file to the C:\Program Files (x86)\BIDS Helper 2008\ folder it doesn't seem to work correctly. What doesn't work, is that when I re-open BIDS 2008, the BIDS Helper add-ins aren't available. If I revert back to the original files, it works just fine, but the compiled versions I made do not work. I am new to working on this project and I am not sure what to look for at this point for troubleshooting. I did check the discussions on this and didn't find anything that looked related. I did see a thread concerning compiling on a 64-bit computer, but it looks like that was addressed already. If someone could provide some pointers on how to get this so I can build it correctly, that would be great! Let me know if there is any other additional information you need.

Thanks!
Coordinator
Aug 21, 2015 at 2:13 PM
When you launch BiDS and go to Tools... Options... BIDS Helper... Version what do you see? If that's not there what do you see in addin manager? Did it try to launch BIDS Helper and fail?
Aug 21, 2015 at 6:23 PM
When I got to Tools>Options>BIDS Helper, it is not listed. When I go to Add-in Manager it is not listed their either. I don't receive any errors or failure notifications. It just doesn't show up.
Coordinator
Aug 22, 2015 at 12:25 AM
go to Tools... Options... Add-in/Macro Security... then add the path to the folder with the .addin and DLLs, then restart Visual Studio.
Aug 22, 2015 at 8:06 PM
That path was already setup in the Addin/Macro Security config, and it still isn't loading.
Aug 26, 2015 at 12:46 PM
furmangg, Any suggestions on what I can try next?

Thanks!
Coordinator
Aug 26, 2015 at 12:51 PM